Klitika and Collages

2013.04.13Scape01
2013.04.13Klitika04
2013.04.13Klitika02
The past week I’ve been working on my Klitika series. I have so many magazines and newspapers that have great images just waiting to be cut up and reassembled. The Klitika are part collages, part line drawings. In morphology and syntax, Klitika is the german translation for clitics: morphemes which depend and “lean” on neighbouring words or phrases.

Coincidentally, my mom also showed me these two pictures (from the Czech Centre in Vienna) of Jiří Kolář’s collages last week.

2013.04.13JiriKolar04
I found them inspiring and also in some way similar to my Klitika pieces in their usage of deconstruction and assembly to create a distorted yet familiar new image.
Other works by Jiří Kolář:

2013.04.13JiriKolar012013.04.13JiriKolar022013.04.13JiriKolar03

Leave a Reply

